Layer blending

A layer's blend mode determines how the layer's pixels or contents blend with the pixels on the layer beneath.

Blend mode types

Affinity Photo supports an impressive selection of different blend modes. The most commonly used blend modes are as follows:

Other available blend modes include Darken, Darker Colour, Lighten, Lighter Colour, Colour Dodge, Add, Soft Light, Hard Light, Vivid Light, Pin Light, Linear Light, Linear Burn, Hard Mix, Difference, Exclusion, Subtract, Hue, Saturation, Luminosity, Colour, Average, Negation, Reflect, Glow, Contrast Negate, Erase and Passthrough.

To change the blend mode of a layer:
  1. On the Layers Panel, select a layer.
  2. Choose a blend mode from the pop-up menu on the panel.