Layer blending

A layer's blend mode determines how the layer or object's pixels blend with the pixels on the layer beneath.

Blend mode types

Affinity Designer supports an impressive selection of different blend modes. The most commonly used blend modes are as follows:

Other available blend modes include Darken, Darker Color, Linear Burn, Lighten, Lighter Color, Color Dodge, Add, Soft Light, Hard Light, Vivid Light, Pin Light, Linear Light, Hard Mix, Difference, Exclusion, Subtract, Hue, Saturation, Luminosity, Color, Average, Negation, Reflect, Glow, Contrast Negate, Erase and Passthrough.

To change the blend mode of a layer (or object):
  1. In the Layers panel, select a layer (or object).
  2. Choose a blend mode from the pop-up menu on the panel.