Using snapshots

Snapshots are great for storing your current work at any point in time, much like a freeze frame. You might do this in advance of carrying out more complex operations where you might need to restore back to a previous point in time (if things don't go to plan!).

If you're experimenting with different approaches, you can also create different snapshots for each approach which lets you explore, compare and evaluate each in turn. You then have the option to choose a preferred snapshot to continue working from.

Compared to reverting edits step-by-step using the History panel, snapshots let you define a stage in your session from which you can restore from.

If needed, you can also take your snapshot to a new document.

About the Snapshot panel

The Snapshots panel is hidden by default. It can be switched on via View>Studio when working in Designer or Pixel Persona.

Add Snapshot To create a snapshot:
Restore Snapshot To restore a snapshot:
  1. From the Snapshots panel, select a snapshot from the list.
  2. Click Restore Snapshot.
New Document From Snapshot To create a new document from a snapshot:
  1. From the Snapshots panel, select a snapshot from the list.
  2. Click New Document from Snapshot.
Delete Snapshot To delete a snapshot:
  1. From the Snapshots panel, select a snapshot from the list.
  2. Click Delete.

SEE ALSO: