Layer blending

A layer's blend mode determines how the layer or object's pixels blend with the pixels on the layer beneath.

Blend Modes
Common blend modes: (A) Normal, (B) Multiply, (C) Screen, (D) Overlay, (E) Colour Burn.

Blend mode types

Affinity Designer supports an impressive selection of different blend modes. The most commonly used blend modes are as follows:

Other available blend modes include Darken, Darker Colour, Linear Burn, Lighten, Lighter Colour, Colour Dodge1, Add, Soft Light, Hard Light, Vivid Light, Pin Light, Linear Light, Hard Mix, Difference1, Exclusion1, Subtract, Hue2, Saturation2, Luminosity, Colour2, Average1, Negation1, Reflect1, Glow1, Contrast Negate, Erase and Passthrough.

1 Not available in Lab16 mode.

2 Not available in Greyscale mode.

To change the blend mode of a layer (or object):
  1. In the Layers panel, select a layer (or object).
  2. Choose a blend mode from the pop-up menu on the panel.